The Bench > The State of Illinois > Logan County, Illinois

Logan County, Illinois

The Logan County Courthouse in Lincoln, IL. (January, 2005)

The Logan County Courthouse in Lincoln, IL (April, 2017)

The old courthouse in Mt. Pulaski. (October, 2006)

This courthouse was first dedicated on Nov. 9th, 1905. It is the fifth courthouse in Logan County. Before Lincoln got the county seat, courthouses were in Mount Pulaski and Postville. The county seat was moved to Lincoln in 1856. This is the thrid on this site. The first burned almost a year after being built in April, 1857. The replacement lasted until 1903.

The current Logan County Courthouse is a classical-style three storiy building. It is made from Cleveland sandstone. The main feature is the dome. It raises 60 feet up and has a interior of stained-glass with four clock faces.

Info from "Showing community pride" The Pantagraph; Bloomington, Illinois 6 November 2005