railroad > Metra


In 1974 a referendum was passed to provide funding for passenger rail service between Chicago and the suburbs. This formed the Regional Transportation Authority. All railroads providing passenger service signed service contracts in 1976 with the RTA. In the 1980's the RTA acquired ownership and operations of several rail lines that were going bankrupt. In 1984 the name Metra was created. It is officially known as the Northeast Illinois Railroad Corp. Metra operates the Heritage Corridor Line (Joliet to Chicago-Union Station), Rock Island District (Joliet to Chicago-La Salle St.), BNSF Railway Line (Aurora to Chicago-Union Station), Milwaukee District West (Elgin-Big Timber Road to Chiacgo-Union Station), Milwaukee District North (Fox Lake to Chicago-Union Station), Southwest Service (Manhattan to Chicago-Union Station), North Central Service (Antioch to Chicago-Union Station), Union Pacific-North (Kenosha, WI to Chicago-Ogilvie Transportation Center), Union Pacific-Northwest (Harvard to Chicago-Ogilvie Transportation Center), Union Pacific-West (Elburn to Chicago-Ogilvie Transportation Center), and Metra Electric (University Park to Chicago-Millennium Station).

Various pictures of Metra
Cars Engines Grade Crossing Misc. Signals Stations Station Signs

Stations By Railline
Chicago-Union Station to Aurora

Electric District
Chicago-Millenium Station to University Park

Heritage Corridor
Chicago-Union Station to Joliet

Milwaukee District-North
Chicago-Union Station to Fox Lake

Milwaukee District-West
Chicago-Union Station to Big Timber Road-Elgin

North Central Service
Chicago-Union Station to Antioch

Rock Island District
Chicago-La Salle Street Station to Joliet

Southwest Service
Chicago-Union Station to Manhattan

Union Pacific-North
Chicago-Ogilvie Transportation Center to Kenosha, WI

Union Pacific-Northwest
Chicago-Ogilvie Transportation Center to Harvard & Mc Henry

Union Pacific-North
Chicago-Ogilvie Transportation Center to Elburn